Enjoy a Walk Over the Hudson River on a Pedestrian Bridge
The bridge now known as the Walkway Over the Hudson opened in 1889 as the Poughkeepsie-Highland Railroad Bridge to transport western raw materials to eastern industrial centers. After a fire destroyed the bridge in 1974, it was rebuilt and re-opened in October 2009 as the Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park thanks to the efforts of a dedicated friends group, the Dyson Foundation, New York State, and many donors. At 212 feet above the Hudson River, this 1.28 mile linear park boasts scenic views north to the Catskills and south to the Hudson Highlands. The Walkway is part of the Hudson Valley Rail Trail Network and was inducted into the Rail-Trail Hall of Fame in 2016. It connects Ulster County's Hudson Valley Rail Trail to Dutchess County's William R. Steinhaus Dutchess Rail Trail.
The Walkway welcomes nearly 600,000 visitors annually from all over the world who enjoy walking, cycling and running amidst its scenic beauty. Today, the Walkway is operated and owned by NYS Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation and the NYS Bridge Authority. It is open year-round, offering programs, events and tours made possible through membership and donations to the Walkway organization.
Address: 61 Parker Avenue, Poughkeepsie and 87 Haviland Road, Highland, New York, USA
NYS Office of Parks Recreation and Historic Preservation Taconic Region. 87 Haviland Road, Highland, NY 12528 and 61 Parker Avenue, Poughkeepsie, NY 12602.
Elizabeth Waldstein-Hart has served as Walkway Over the Hudson’s Executive Director since 2010. In that time, the organization has grown dramatically. Under Elizabeth’s leadership, Walkway has raised an additional $4 million to support major constructi... Read Full Bio